Rugby League

Carnegie Challenge Cup DVDs

Carnegie Challenge Cup DVDs

In the world of Rugby League there is no more prestigious competition than the...

International Rugby League DVDs

The Rugby League Tri-Nations is a rugby league tournament played between Great...

Super League DVDs

In 1996 the Super League (Europe) was formed and saw rugby league change from a...

Rugby League was famously formed at a meeting of 22 clubs in the George Hotel, Huddersfield, on 29 August 1895. Dissatisfied with the existing Rugby Football Union these northern clubs formed the Northern Rugby Football Union, which later became known as the Northern Union. In turn, this then became the Rugby Football League.

The game of Rugby League is played professionally in England, France, Australia and New Zealand, and to a lesser extent in several other countries. In England the game of Rugby League is particularly prevalent in the north.

Professional Rugby League Highlights

The winners of the first championship in 1895/96 were Manningham. Since then, winners have included Wigan, St Helens, Huddersfield, Bradford, Swinton, Salford, Hull, Oldham, Hull Kingston Rovers, Halifax, Leeds and Widnes. Wigan won the Championship seven seasons in succession from 1989/90 to 1995/96.

In 1996 Super League (Europe) began, seeing rugby league now being played in the summer, and is the only full time professional Rugby League competition in the northern hemisphere. St Helens were the winners in that first season.